Celeste and Jesse Forever – spoiler free review

20120805-195103.jpg

Hi everyone! I’m blogging from my iPad for the first time so bear with me. My mom got a new iPad for her birthday and then gave me her old one. Needless to say, I’m thrilled.

I’ve spent the past two days getting to know my iPad, who I’ve named Alfred (Pennyworth). But today I tore myself away from it long enough to see Celeste and Jesse Forever. If you haven’t heard of it, it’s a movie by Rashida Jones and her writing partner Will McCormack. It stars Jones and Andy Samberg. They play a couple who is going through a divorce while they continue to be best friends.

Oh. This movie. Let me tell you. The title couple are such an intense pair of best friends. They reminded me so intensely of me and my own best friend (Holly, the one sitting beside me at the time) that it wasn’t difficult to see why they had trouble letting go of one another. Much of this chemistry came in the form of quirky habits developed between two people so enamored with each other that they had a thousand ways to communicate their affection for one another.

This movie was less a romantic comedy and more a study of friendships that included both romance and comedy. Relationships develop and fall apart between countless characters in the film that were diverse in gender and personality type (but not usually race). I really enjoyed that it showed positive and negative behavior in friendships between women and women, men and men, and women and men. I especially loved the colleague/friend relationship between Celeste and Elijah Wood’s character, as it showed a great way to be friends with your coworkers without getting your lives too intermingled.

I did have things I didn’t like about the movie. There was the whitewashed Los Angeles, the super hip locations, and a few of the wardrobe choices, but other than that I really enjoyed this movie. It has a lot of beautiful music accompanied by gorgeous shots of cityscapes and skies. It left a lot of the connecting the dots up to the audience, which makes it a little smarter than your average twenty-something romance flick.

I’m glad I was able to check this out. It’s not under wide release but I encourage you, if you have the chance to see it, do it. Even if it’s just to support Rashida Jones, an actress who created a great role for herself, and an interesting movie too.

3 responses to “Celeste and Jesse Forever – spoiler free review

  1. Ah, I’m so glad you got to see it! And that your Ipad dreams came true!
    (Also, note that I’m posting with mah blog account!)

  2. Ack, I wanted to go see this at the Bookshelf last month but I didn’t manage to make it while it was still playing. Can’t wait to see it!

what do you think?

