FO(s): batPod & elephant mug rug

Bear with me, I’m posting from the iPad, and the formatting is not as nice as it is normally. I may edit the photos in this post later if they don’t come out looking as good!

I recently picked up my new (old) sewing machine from triangle sewing centre. It was all oiled up and ready for sewing! I got to know it by fixing a pair of shorts, and then I got into some more complicated stuff.

20120811-215921.jpg

First, I made my mom a mug rug for her birthday.

20120811-220148.jpg

I cut out a bit of this pretty elephant fabric and echo quilted around the octagon shape. It was a nice, easy, and rather speedy project.

20120811-220650.jpg

I backed it in this cool orangey painting fabric I got from Paula at the yarn store. It’s bound I some leftover soleil fabric from my niece’s quilt.

Next, I made a case for my iPad. I did extensive research on tutorials and decided on this one from One Shabby Chick.

20120811-221723.jpg

I used most of the rest of my batman fabric and I looooove it! I quilted it in a grid, which I think works really well with the fabric.

20120811-222359.jpg

I used a button instead of Velcro because I didn’t have any. I think it looks good.

20120811-222723.jpg

I lined it with this aviary damask fabric. It doesn’t quite match, but I love it, and that’s the whole point of this thing. The back is pretty nice too.

20120811-225645.jpg

I’m thinking of making another one already, this time with the TARDIS on the back. I found a pattern for a paper pieced block and I think this is the perfect chance to test it.

One response to “FO(s): batPod & elephant mug rug

  1. I think I have fallen in love with that elephant fabric :)

what do you think?

